A few weekends ago, I hiked Monument Mountain with my dear friend Liora. It was a beautiful day—perfect for summit sitting, wandering, talking, tree climbing, and goofiness.

Liora and Me

Liora and I

Eating apples (from the tree of knowledge?) at the summit.

Eating apples (from the tree of knowledge?) at the summit.

Looking off into... the distance? the future?

Looking off into... the distance? the future?

Tree-climber or PhD? Both!

Tree-climber or PhD? Both!

PIC_0017

Homage to the Karate Kid.

Yay!

Yay!

Then, the other day I finally made my way over to East Mountain. There’s a delightfully tucked-away trail down the road, a steep climb, then a ladder up a big rock to a view of Great Barrington, the Berkshire Mountains, and the Catskills beyond. I was in a reflective, contemplating kind of mood, so the solo walk up, lunch hour (and mountain/sky/cloud-gazing) on the rock, and walk down without seeing other humans was perfect. Cell phone photos follow.

East Mountain View

View from East Mountain

Boots on the rock.

Boots on the rock.

Giraffe sighting!

Giraffe sighting!